top of page

On My Mind - 22 Months Post-Op


I am quickly approaching the two-year mark since needing emergency back surgery. Why is this significant to me? Because with Cauda Equina Syndrome (CES), nerve damage often occurs. And I've been told and read enough to know that any nerve healing that will take place will frequently take place within a two-year period after CES surgery.


On my mind these days are thoughts wondering if any lingering nerve issues are something I will be living with for the rest of my life. Initially, after the surgery, my attitude was super positive. I know my outcome could have been far worse. But in being positive, I was at times ignoring/denying the reality that at the end of the day - my back was hurting, and it would make it harder to fall asleep.


This Spring, I decided it was time to switch primary care doctors. Sometimes, new eyes are needed for challenging situations. I nearly cried during the first appointment when she told me that she researched CES prior to my appointment. CES is such a rare occurrence that not many practitioners have direct experience with this. Anyways, my new doctor and I are tweaking some of my prescriptions so there is renewed hope for less pain at night and better sleep.


One of the ongoing chronic conditions that I do think is tied to CES and resulting nerve damage, is plantar fasciitis in my left foot. While I do still swim, I find that swimming tends to cause a plantar fasciitis flare up. I miss swimming though. So, this is a formerly big area of my life that I'm still trying to navigate.


Despite any ongoing nerve damage or anything, I do enjoy spending time with my pup and my mom's pups. We recently had to humane euthanize her senior dog. But soon after, Harris, a legit puppy was welcomed into the pack. I actually have Harris in obedience school on Saturdays throughout May. I'd really like to see if I could work with this pup to get him certified to visit assisted living places etc. - so a certified therapy dog. And I do enjoy getting to spend time with my mom and being able to help her out a good bit. I count it a privilege to have such a close relationship with her as adults. She also helps me better empathize with the needs/concerns of those who are more elderly in our society.


The cover picture is actually my aunt's lab, whom I get to pet sit from time to time. We've had a lot of rain in my neck of the woods and last Friday and Saturday were lovely. This dog was so happy to simply sit and enjoy the weather. He didn't want to play - he simply wanted to enjoy the sunlight. As a bonus, I sat on her terrace swing and enjoyed being outside some too.


It was then that I realized it had been a while since I had simply sat outside enjoying the sounds of nature. But this past weekend, I took a day off work to spend time getting the porch ready for the rest of Spring/Summer. And on this porch is where I've been most of this Sunday afternoon. Low humidity, not too hot, a meal cooking in the crock pot. I know the weather won't always be this nice so I'm glad to take some time to enjoy it today.


I'm looking forward to the rest of spring and summer where I have some days off and long weekends planned. I need to incorporate a bit more R&R into my weekly and monthly routines.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page