top of page

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Yep, there was a mishap where the post office couldn't deliver any of my Christmas cards. The explanation - I ran out of time and didn't get my Christmas cards sent out. Oops! Gasp! I'm sure there are plenty of people who are holding their breath wondering if I'm ok because they didn't get a card from me.


I'm not trying to be too mean, or too sarcastic toward anyone who was organized and successfully got Christmas cards out as I do enjoy getting them. But I do often wonder if sending out Christmas cards is a dying custom or tradition. That being said, the holiday season honestly did sneak up on me this year a bit. It's overall been a good holiday season - but it has gone by quickly.


There is no Christmas card list this year and a social media / blog post of Christmas and New Year cheer will have to suffice. In all honesty, I do wish everyone reading this a Merry Christmas. Not every Christmas season is the same and that's ok. Some people I know have lost loved ones this year and Christmas may be hard and challenging - and that's ok too. Christmas in America can be a lot of fun, but it can also be a lot of work. I read an article of observations written by foreign student who doesn't come from a Christian background and her perspective: Christmas and getting ready for Christmas is like a part-time job.


I am blessed that I've had time this season to spend with a good many of my family in smaller settings instead of one big family gathering. Christmas for me is not all about getting many gifts - but I do generally enjoy gift giving and I am deeply touched by those who chose to gift me something at this time of year. I also try to be respectful of others and their ideas of gift giving. I know people/families who opt for no gifts and seek to take a day or a trip and gift one another fun experiences and quality time to together.


My biggest Christmas wish/prayer I would like to pass along to whomever reads this - I hope you find some moments to sit, be still, reflect, count your blessings, recall good memories, and make new good memories. Things will not always be as they are now, and life and every season (including Christmas) is mixed with pros and cons. May God send you unexpected blessings wherever you are and with whomever you are spending Christmas. May 2023 start out well for you and your loved ones.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page