top of page

Happy Valentine's Day - A *KEK Update



Looking Forward with a Reflective View

Confession - not everyone on my Christmas card list received their cards. Maybe I was overambitious and simply needed to rest more than I anticipated after going back into an office five days a week for a new job. It doesn't really matter; I have the type of personality of where if I say I am going to do something; I feel bad when it doesn't get done. So, some people are getting Valentine's Day/Happy New Year cards.






Here is part of an update I'm sending out snail mail along with a few other things of importance. Simply for anyone who may be curious:


  • It has been fascinating being a resource for larger financial services consulting firm. My new job role is evaluating data to see if a report needs to be filed with a governmental agency based on whether any individual or company has moved an excess of $10,000 in cash in any one day. Legit cash, not checks, I’m talking about the currency you hold in your hand. These are both tasks associated with a larger anti-money laundering (AML) and anti-terrorist funding project.

  • There's also an AI/tech audit project happening at work. We need to be sure the software is detecting all cases our team should be evaluating. For my accounting friends, this type of project is somewhat similar as to physically counting inventory - an activity where a lot needs to be examined and validated.

  • I went swimming on February 10th for the first time in a long time and swam for a little less than hour. I started with a 200-breast and swam a total of 1500 yards, only 150 years shy of a swimming mile. I was swimming for pleasure, and it felt great to hit the water with such a good first swim. Maybe I’ll get brave to try a Master’s swimming workout and see how I enjoy it. I’m not 100% sure I’ve even done a true Masters swimming workout since my emergency back surgery a few years ago. But I know I swam in at least one swim meet.

  • A milestone birthday is coming up on February 18th! I will mark being alive for 45 years and I'll start living year 46 on February 19th. I'm planning to take February 19th off unless I can sit in on an additional training at work. Another confession - my birthday always sneaks up on me. I rarely have elaborate plans. Maybe I should start celebrating my half-birthday more. Early August. Not a time to receive gifts, but maybe a time to do something outdoors - near a lake or something with friends or family. An outing at Lake Jocassee maybe? Rent a cabin?

  • I don't feel disabled due to my back surgery a few years ago. But because my spinal nerves were involved, I do live with a degree of nerve damage. I don't think of myself as disabled, but I do think I would be considered disabled in certain avenues. I wonder if I should be doing be more (maybe volunteer work or something) to help or advocate for those who do have a disability.


With that - I'm looking forward to starting to live out year 46.


*For those who don't know, I've previously used my initials 'KEK' as an internal email and paper signature.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page