top of page

Dangers of Getting Freedom Wrong

Updated: Jul 19, 2020

Back in the days when I lived in Portugal, one of the legitimate vacations I took was to Krakow, Poland and Prague, Czech Republic. Going only by memory, I'm thinking it was the summer of 2009. I took off on my vacation after spending a week with fellow co-workers at a work conference in Liberec, Czech Republic. I traveled by myself but had the phone numbers of friends who lived in each country should I get into trouble. This one vacation is one of the best things I've ever done for myself!


I remember thinking how interesting it was that I was permitted to travel as a single woman in a country that was once part of the former Soviet Union. At one point during my lifetime, this location would not have been considered safe; much less so for someone traveling with a Bible. But in 2009, I was able to attend a conference and travel solo as a single woman with a Bible in my bag. I remember that part being a bit surreal. I don't recall if there was a Bible in the hotel room or not. What has always impressed me about Europe is that those lands have so much history and my home country is so young by comparison.


While on this vacation of a lifetime, I got to visit Auschwitz. Sobering is the best word I can think of to describe my tour. My first impression when walking in the gates was that the buildings looked ok. Then I learned that the Germans had taken over a army base so the initial buildings were indeed decent. But then it quickly became overcrowded and the conditions went downhill fast. I made sure I took a picture of the gate as you walk into Auschwitz; there is a phrase that means, "Work Makes One Free".


Clearly, such a pathway under that sign was once a gross distortion of a route to freedom. Those who were sent to Auschwitz weren't ushered to freedom by any stretch of the imagination. And I would venture to say that it's possible there were lower-ranking soldiers who also felt they didn't have much freedom. They were there to carry out orders. It's possible that speaking out on either side carried a great risk - immediate death.


This all points to the fact that there is a great responsibility that comes with promising freedom. Currently, in my country, protests of racial inequality are at a high point. I'm embarrassed to say that after considering myself to be a student of the world, learning much about certain other cultures, even living in a different country for a period of time, I'm just now beginning to understand what 'white privilege' means and how there is a history of systems that have promoted racial inequality. We are living with its' fruit today.


Concerns over Covid-19 continue to present a cause for division in our country. I didn't do much on July 4th and had a low-key day. I did get to spend some time with one of my aunts on July 3rd and we commented how it is so strange to be living with so much uncertainty. I also stumbled upon a speech made by Rev. Billy Graham in Washington, DC on July 4, 1970 - 50 years ago. Much of what he said then, he could have said this July 4th holiday if he were still living. Then it dawned on me that in six years - July 4, 2026 our country will celebrate 250 years of independence. But what kind of a nation are we building? To quote Dr. Tony Evans, who was quoted by Dr. Don Wilton, Pastor of First Baptist Spartanburg, on June 7, 2020 during a televised joint church service with Mt. Nebo Baptist Church just after George Floyd's death:

Do we want to be one nation under God or a divided nation apart from God? If we don't answer this question right or quickly - we won't be much of a nation at all.

If we are going to make claims of freedom, we must work to make sure all can enjoy such freedoms. Where policies don't work, or are abused - we must work to fix them. I just hope and pray we don't end up devouring our fellow countrymen as we work toward true racial equality while navigating a pandemic during an election year. There are dangers lurking in the future if we get freedom wrong or continue to deny freedom to certain groups. As my vacation in lands that once were part of the Soviet Union taught me - things can change more quickly than we think. Also, for those who have seen Lin-Manual Miranda's Hamilton, recall some of King George's lyrics:

Oceans rise / Empires fall / Next to Washington, they all look small / All alone / Watch them run / They will tear each other into pieces...

Hopefully, that won't happen. We have fought one civil war and I hope another won't be fought anytime soon or ever! So let's also remember some of the lyrics of the Schulyer sisters in Hamilton:


Look around, look around at how / Lucky we are to be alive right now! / Look around, look around at how / Lucky we are to be alive right now! History is happening...

Yes, history is happening right now and we have a responsibility to steward our words and our responsibilities related to freedom. May God heal our land and continue to bless all of America - those who were born here and those who have chosen to live here.

Entrance to Auschwitz


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page