top of page

Cauda Equina What-a??

The past 15 days have been a whirlwind. I think my mind is just starting to catch up with what my poor body has been through.


I pinpoint things starting on Sunday, June 20. I did a normal at home work out with a few weights. I didn't go swimming that day so I wanted to get some sort of a workout in. Nothing unusual on this day. A workout felt great.


On Monday, June 21 - I felt sore - normal soreness, didn't think anything more about it.


On Tuesday, June 22 - I woke up and my work computer wasn't coming up. I had worked until about 7pm during a storm the previous day. But I couldn't turn off the computer, couldn't restart. I checked all the connections which meant I was crawling down on the floor in my home office. I didn't notice that this felt uncomfortable but then thought maybe I was more sore than usual because it had been a while since I had done an at home workout with weights.


On Wednesday, June 23 - it was a day in the office with my work team. We walked to and from lunch and I noticed that my left leg was starting to feel a bit numb. I was a bit alarmed but nothing was so painful. I would just monitor things. By that evening I was experiencing some saddle numbness (where you feel numb on places that your body comes into contact if you were sitting on a horse saddle).


Thursday, June 24 - I sought to power through the day, I did have a few headaches as well. I didn't connect headaches with any numbness. By Thursday evening, I was quite uncomfortable.


Friday, June 25 - the saddle numbness was persistent and now both legs were feeling a bit numb down to behind my knees. I headed to the ER. After some x-rays and a steroid shot, I was released with a prescription for steroid tablets and a muscle relaxer. The ER doctor specifically said she didn't think this was Cauda Equina - but that it was sciatica. The x-rays did show a bit of degenerative scoliosis, but nothing that warranted any further testing. The ER doctor told me to follow-up with my primary care doctor on Monday is the numbness persisted or to come back to the ER if things got worse (meaning I lost total control of my bladder and/or bowel).


Prior to going to the ER, I had googled my symptoms and come across the Cauda Equina Syndrome - saddle numbness is a key red flag. However, this condition is supposedly very, very rare. However, I really couldn't find anything else that described my symptoms. Hindsight is 20/20 and now I wish I would have perhaps pushed for an MRI on Friday at the ER. An MRI is the best way to diagnose Cauda Equina Syndrome. But I headed home with hopes that the prescriptions would help.


Monday, June 28 - the saddle numbness remained. I called my doctor's office and told them what happened about the ER but the soonest they could see me was Wednesday. I took the appointment and continued with the work day. A bit later someone called me back and asked if I had help if I needed it (it was like they actually comprehended that I was a seeking a follow-up appointment from an ER trip). But still, no earlier appointment was available.


Tuesday, June 29 - I woke up around 3:00 AM and it was clear I wasn't getting better but getting worse. I headed back to the ER with fears that I would be diagnosed with this cauda equina syndrome and need emergency surgery. But I wasn't going to leave without an MRI.


I didn't have to fight hard for the MRI - it was ordered almost automatically. I had to wait until the techs showed up so there was some waiting. And the MRI did show that nerves were being compressed and that I would need emergency surgery to prevent further problems and give the highest likelihood for my nerves to heal. So late that afternoon, I had a lumbar laminectomy to decompress the nerves in the cauda equina region of my spinal cord.


I spent one night in the hospital. I think I assumed they would be giving me major pain meds in my IV but when I asked the day nurse what all they had been giving me - it was only antibiotics and saline in the IV. I did have heavy duty pain meds on order, but I had to ask for them and I never asked for them. For the first 15 hours or so, I was only taking Tylenol for pain and not in dire pain.


Thus far, pain is manageable during the day with only Tylenol and maybe a muscle relaxer. At night, I will take something a bit stronger but it's still not one of the big gun opioid-type pain killers.


We are currently at day 6 post surgery. I can move about with relative ease. I'm not allowed to bed, lift anything more than 10 pounds, or twist. And drive - I won't be cleared to drive for another 2 weeks or so.


I'm amazed at how frail our bodies are - I had no idea that any sort of condition existed that would require me to have emergency surgery on my spine. But I'm amazed at how strong my body is - I had surgery on my spine and didn't need major opioid-type pain killers? Say what? I'm amazed but thankful that I don't need opioids right now.


Some definitions -


1) Cauda Equina Syndrome (CES) - toward the very end of your spine, there is a bundle of nerves called the Cauda Equina (Latin for "horse's tail"). When these nerves get compressed - it is a medical emergency. It can result in permanent nerve damage and paralysis of legs if not addressed in a timely manner. When surgery happens in a timely manner, the likelihood of recovery is higher; even though it takes a long time for nerves to heal.


2) Lumbar Laminectomy - a surgery to remove some bone part of the vertebrae to allow the nerves to have more room.


Next Steps / Goals:


- I'm praying that this incision heals well, doesn't get infected. It's in the middle of summer and unfortunately I do sweat fairly easily so I'm hoping this doesn't complicate anything.


- Formal PT will start after a few more weeks of healing. As soon as I'm cleared to get into a pool (maybe after another 5 weeks), I do have an aqua-jogger now.


- There are some minor bathroom challenges I'm learning to navigate. Hopefully, this will only get better with time (and/or reverse with time).


- I'm hoping to start working again tomorrow. But I will pace myself. I have needed at least one nap every single day since surgery. But thankfully I am set up to work remotely from home.


- I'm trying to not sit for too long - I'm actually standing to finish this blog post because it feels good to be standing.


- I'm trying to exercise my legs as much as possible without using my lower back too much. Think marching in place, side-steps. ankle rotations, etc.


- I want to find a new primary care doctor after the office couldn't give me an earlier appointment after an ER trip. So that's on a longer-term to do list.


A Word of Gratitude:


I would be lying if I said I was 100% pleased with every aspect of medical care I received and I haven't detailed everything here. But I am thankful because I really do sense things could have been worse. I appreciate all the friends and family who were texting with me while I was in the ER just waiting for surgery to happen. I was given steroids and no pain meds so I was pretty wired and alert that day.


While I am frustrated that I had to miss days of work right as important work project milestones were happening - when it comes to the possibility of my being paralyzed - it's definitely time to step back from work a bit.


I have no idea what the future holds and I hope that this will just be blip on the landscape of my life. I will keep taking one day a time and hope that recovery will be complete - even if I have to wait a wile for it.





36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page