top of page

The Human Body and Stress

Updated: Jul 19, 2020

I still become amazed at how stress is able to affect the human body. Through various experiences, my body from time to time transforms into an instructor telling me when I need to make changes.


Too much stress tends to mess with my stomach and appetite. In higher stressed situations, I run for the sweet kinds of junk food. Exercise supposedly helps manage stress (I enjoy it physically and mentally) but then oh my goodness, I'm so hungry and must re-fuel my body.


If the stress meter in my life increases by a few more degrees, my appetite drops. I'm not hungry much and I lose weight without trying. I then must force myself to eat. This is when my mind needs to slow down and listen to my body to realize I am in the danger zone. Although it doesn't happen too frequently at all, if my appetite does drop due to situational stress, I know I need to step back and re-evaluate my priorities. What needs to change to get me into a healthier place? And as a woman, it is well documented that stress can mess with our hormones - we can get too many menstrual cycles in any given month or none at all.


As a former missionary, I used to live in Lisbon, Portugal. I have zero regrets about deciding to not pursue the traditional accounting job right after graduate school. I still tell people that Portugal is Europe's best-kept secret. But moving to another culture, away from family is not for the faint of heart. I experienced some stress.


At a checkup in Portugal for some digestive issues, a German doctor suggested I swim in the ocean for thirty minutes a day. Now for a girl who grew up in the Southeastern United States, who went to beaches where the water got as warm as bath water while growing up, going for a swim in the cold waters off of Portugal was less than appealing. Looking back, I wish I would have given it a try. Instead, I joined a gym and frequently walked by ocean for exercise.


Fast forward 10 plus years, swimming has become a key hobby, exercise, and stress management tool. I picked up competitive swimming a few years ago as an adult. I'm not super fast but I don't really care. I swim year-round, when it's cold outside, even when it's snowing outside. But COVID 19 changed all of that. The pools closed and are just starting to re-open. Now, I currently need to RSVP for a lane - which takes a bit of forethought and planning that I'm not used to at present.


But in my state, the number of COVID 19 cases continues to rise. I don't think I will be swimming as much this summer as usual. It looks like it might be wise to continue exploring alternative stress relief activities - including writing this blog.


Other activities to be explored:

  • Art

  • Cross-stitch - repetitive motion with hands

  • Virtual book club

  • Jigsaw puzzles

  • At home exercise

  • New recipes

  • Online Bible studies - I've already signed up for one

What about you? What helps you mitigate stress? Has COVID 19 caused you to adjust any coping activities you have used to manage your stress levels?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page